Commonwealth Flag Project

Home | Project Location| Countries of Commonwealth | The Commonwealth Flag Project | The Commonwealth Disaster Relief Scheme
Vice Regal Standards | Photo Gallery | News & Events | Contact The Project


Back to main page

Commonwealth Flag

Commonwealth Governors of the British Overseas Territories & Crown Dependancies

The British Overseas Territories have a Governor, Commissioner or Administrator Representing the United Kingdom The British Overseas Territories are fourteen territories that are under the sovereignty of the United Kingdom, but which do not form part of the United Kingdom itself. The name British Overseas Territory was introduced by the British Overseas Territories Act 2002, and replaced the name British-Dependent Territory, which was introduced by the British Nationality Act 1981. Before that, the territories were known as colonies or Crown colonies. The British Overseas Territories are also referred to as overseas territories of the United Kingdom, UK overseas territories, or, when the context is clear, simply the Overseas Territories. The territories of Jersey, Guernsey, and the Isle of Man, though also under the sovereignty of the British Crown, have a slightly different constitutional relationship with the United Kingdom, and are consequently classed as Crown dependencies rather than Overseas Territories. <click on the map below to see the full picture>.

British Overseas TerritoriesHolidays of the British Overseas Territories

It is not usual for dates in the calendars of the Overseas Territories or Crown Dependencies to be specifically designated as "ceremonial days". However, occasions such as HM the Queen's Birthday and Remembrance Sunday are usually marked ceremonially, and the Governor (or equivalent) would normally attend. While, strictly speaking, it is inaccurate to speak of a "National Day", the term is sometimes used to denote an annual celebration of the particular identity of an Overseas Territory or Crown Dependency. All Public Holidays are listed below in each Overseas or Dependant Territory. For more in depth information on the countries and territories listed below click on the pages here:


Flag Arms Territory Location Capital Vice Regal Standard Governor Contact
Anguilla Anguilla Anguilla Caribbean St John's Her Excellency Christina Scott Her Excellency
Christina Scott

UK Representative:
Mr Robert Williams, 78 Plumber Road, High Wycombe, Bucks, HP11 2SR.
Tel: +44 (0) 1494 447 033

Bermuda Bermuda Bermuda North Atlantic Ocean Hamilton Flag of Bermuda HE George Fergusson His Excellency
George Fergusson
23rd May 2012 -

UK Representaive:
Mr Marc Telemaque, Secretary to the Cabinet, Cabinet Office
105 Front Street, Hamilton, HM12, Bermuda.
Tel: +001 441 292 5501.

British Antartica British Antarctic Territories British Antarctic Territory Antarctica Rothera British Antarctic Territories Commissioner Peter Hayes

Peter Hayes

Foreign & Commonwealth Office.
British Indian Ocean British Indian Territories British Indian Ocean Territory Indian Ocean Diego Garcia British Indian Ocean Territory Commissioner Peter Hayes Commissioner
Peter Hayes
Foreign & Commonwealth Office
British Virgin Islands British Virgin Islands British Virgin Islands Caribbean & North Atlantic Territories. Road Town Flag of British Virgin Islands H.E David Pearey

His Excellency
Boyd McClery CMG CVO

UK Representative:
Ms Dawn Smith, BVI Government Office, 15 Upper Grosvenor Street, London, W1K 7PJ
Tel: +44(20)7355 9570
Fax: +44(20)7355 9575
Cayman Islands Cayman Islands Cayman Islands Caribbean & North Atlantic Territories. George Town Flag of Cayman Islands HE Helen Kilpatrick Her Excellency
Helen Kilpatrick CB
6th Sept 2013 -
UK Representative:
Mary Chandler-Allan, Acting United Kingdom Representative Cayman Islands
Government Office, 6 Arlington Street, London ,SW1A 1RE
Tel: +44 (20) 7491 7772
Fax: +44(20)7491 7944
Falkland Islands Falkland Islands Falkland Islands South Atlantic Ocean Stanley Falkland Islands HE Nigel Haywood His Excellency
Nigel Haywood CVO
Oct 2010 -
UK Representative:
Miss Sukey Cameron MBE, United Kingdom Representative Falkland Islands
Government Office, Falkland House, 14 Broadway, London, SW1H 0BH
Tel: +44 (20) 7222 2542
Fax: +44 (20) 7222 2375
Gibratar Gibratar Gibraltar Iberian Peninsula Gibraltar Flag of Gibraltar HE Lt Gov Sir James Dutton His Excellency
Lt General Sir James Dutton
6 December 2013 -

UK Representative:
Mr Albert Poggio OBE, United Kingdom Representative Government of Gibraltar
Arundel Great Court, 179 Strand, London, WC1R 1EH
Tel: +44 (20) 7836 0777
Fax: +44 (20) 7240 6612

Monserrat Monsserat Montserrat Caribbean & North Atlantic Territories. Brades Flag of Monserrat Peter Waterworth

His Excellency
Adrian Davis

8 April 2011 -

UK Representative:
Mrs Janice Panton MBE, United Kingdom Representative
180-186 Kings Cross Road, London, WC1X 9DE
Tel.: +44 (0) 207 520 2622
Fax: +44 (0) 207 520 2624
Pitcain Islands Pitcain Islands Pitcairn Islands Pacific Ocean Adamstown Flag of Pitcain Island Victoria Treadell

Her Excellency
Victoria Treadell CMG, CVO
29 May 2010 -

British High Commission, Wellington
44 Hill Street, Wellington 6011
New Zealand.
Saint Helena Saint Helena Saint Helena South Atlantic Ocean Jamestown Saint Helena HE Mark Capes

His Excellency
Mark Andrew Capes.


UK Representative:
Mrs Kedell Worboys, United Kingdom Representative Government of St Helena
7 Portland Place, London, W1B 1PP
Tel: +44 (20) 7031 0314
Fax: +44 (20) 7031 0315
Tristan Da Cunha   Tristan da Cunha South Atlantic Ocean   Flag of Administrator of Tristan Da Cunha Alex Mitham Administrator of Tristan da Cunha
His Honour
Alex Mitham with his wife Hasene
see above
Saint Helena   Ascension Island South Atlantic Ocean   Flag of Administrator of Ascension Island HH Coin Wells Administrator of Ascension Island
His Honour
Colin Wells, October 2011 -
see above
South Georgia South Georgia South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands South Atlantic Ocean King Edward Point/Grytviken Flag of South Georgia HE Nigel Haywood Commissioner His Excellency
Nigel Haywood CVO 2008 -
UK Bases in Cyprus HM Base in Cyprus Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri & Dhekelia Mediterranean(Cyprus) Episkopi Cantonment Uk Flag
The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia are two UK-administered areas on the island of Cyprus that comprise the Sovereign Base Areas military bases of the United Kingdom. The bases were retained by the UK following the granting of independence and the eventual transition of Cyprus from a crown colony to an independent sovereign state. The United Kingdom demanded and succeeded in continuing to occupy a portion of Cyprus in the form of military bases because of the strategic location of Cyprus in the Mediterranean Sea in pursuit of UK interests.
Turks & Caicos Turks & Caicos Turks & Caicos Islands Caribbean Cockburn Town Turks & Caicos HE Peter Beckingham His Excellency
Peter Beckingham
9th October 2013 -
UK Representative:
Ms Tracy Knight, United Kingdom Representative Turks and Caicos Islands, Government Office
42 Westminster Palace Gardens, 1-7 Artillery Row ,London, SW1P 1RR
Tel: +44 (02) 7222 9024
Fax: +44 (02) 7222 9025
Guernsey   Jersey English Channel   Jersey Sir John McColl

Lt Governor
His Excellency
Gen. Sir John McColl KCB, CBE, DSO
26 Sept 2011 -

Jersey   Guernsey English Channel   Guernsey HE Peter Walker

Lt Governor
His Excellency
Air Marshall Peter Walker CB CBE
15 April, 2011 -

Isle of Man   Isle of Man Irish Sea   Flag of Isle Of Man HE Alex Wood Lt Governor
His Excellency
Adam Wood
2011 -


© Copyright, The Commonwealth Flag Project & Disaster Relief Scheme 2007, All Rights Reserved. Contact Us | Privacy Policy